

Charity Number 267969

EAST WORLINGTON PARISH HALL MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE Minutes of Annual General Meeting Held on Thursday 14th May 2020 @ 7.30 pm Via Zoom due to Covid 19 Restrictions

1. Meeting opened by the Chair

Steve welcomed everyone to the meeting and he explained the AGM procedure and committee structure.

2. Present and Apologies:

Present: Steve Baber (Chair), Campie Hurst Bannister (Vice Chair), Nigel Sedgwick (Treasurer), Maxine Difford (Secretary), Jonathan Harford, Liz Guppy, Sandy Haughton, Miya Bond, Ray Bassingthwaighte, Mark Shipley, Amanda Mastroddi, Lou Mastroddi.

Apologies: Angie Lunn, Philip Risdon, Laura Manton (Booking Secretary) Brian Edwards. Jude Edmonds

3. Minutes of the AGM dated 9th May 2019:

Decision	Action
The minutes of the AGM held on	
Thursday 9 th May 2019 were approved	
and signed.	
All in favour	

4. Matters Arising:

There were no matters arising.

5. Annual Trustees Report – Achievements of the Year:

This report is being collated and a draft will be available for the Committee on 17th May 2020. The main achievement this is year is the foyer.

Decision	Action
Steve asked for comment from the Committee regarding the draft to be circulated.	All to email Steve

6. Treasurer's Report:

i. 2019 was a successful year for the Charity. Three major projects were completed on time and within budget, the Charity was awarded three stars by Hallmark from initial

inspection, and, despite the hall being closed for much of the year, our local fundraising exceeded expectations.

- ii. Furthermore, we were able to approve £2,000 of grants to other charities who were associated with our major fund-raising event in the summer, being the Jazz night.
- iii. Net assets at the year-end exceeded £25,000 keeping us within our target capital position.
- iv. Our longer-term funding requirements remain nonetheless a challenge and we continue to make transfers to our restricted funds for thatching and rendering.
- v. We continue to develop our long-term business plan for the Charity and our funding requirements over the longer term will continue to put demands on everyone to maintain the level of fund raising we have seen over recent years.
- vi. The financial audit for accounting year 2019/20 was completed by Sean Hartrey, and signed off by Sean Hartrey. Many thanks once again to Sean

Decision	Action
Accept the accounts as a true record.	
Proposed: Sandy	
Seconded: Jonny	
All in favour	

Decision	Action
Thank you letter to be sent to Sean Hartrey for signing off the audit of	Maxine
accounts	

Go forward in a sound financial position. The Committee extended their thanks to Nigel for all his hard work as Treasurer.

7. Notification of Organisations Representatives:

- i. **Parish Council –** Philip Risdon will continue with this role for 2020/21
- ii. **Parochial Church Council-** Ray Bassingthwaighte will continue this role for 2020/21
- iii. **East Worlington Primary School/Chulmleigh Academy Trust –** Angie Lunn will continue with this role for 2020/21

8. Election of Elected Trustees:

All the Committee then stood down. Miya Bond and Lorna Manton stood down. Mark Shipley joined.

Decision	Action
The committee members wishing to stand were re-elected	
All in favour	

9. Co-opted Trustees

Amanda and Lou Mastroddi to continue in their role as maintenance.

10. Election and Appointment of Officers of the Committee

Steve Baber (Chair) Proposed: Maxine Difford

Seconded: Liz Guppy

All in favour

Campie Hurst-Bannister (Vice Chair) Proposed: Jonathan

Seconded: Sandy Haughton

Nigel Sedgwick (Honorary Treasurer) Proposed: Campie Hurst-Bannister

Seconded: Ray Bassingthwaite

All in favour

Maxine Difford (Honorary Secretary) Proposed: Campie Hurst-Bannister

Seconded: Jonathan Harford

All in favour

11. Sub Committee

The Sub Committees were reviewed.

- Conservation, Improvement and Maintenance Committee remains the same. Agreed membership: Steve Baber, Campie Hurst-Bannister, Jonathon Harford, Ray Bassingthwaighte
- b. Heritage Sub-Committee. Liz Guppy, Sandy Haughton, Philip Risdon, Steve Baber. (Lorna Manton, Miya Bond and Gavin Manton to remain on this Committee)
- c. Community Programme Sub-Committee remains the same. Brian remains the mainstay
- d. Business including: Finance, Administration, Publicity and Marketing, Communication. Steve Baber, Nigel Sedgwick, Maxine Difford. The website being the current priority.

12. Date of Next AGM Thursday 13th May 2021

The AGM ended at 7.47 pm