Download the fact sheet PDF file:
The Anglican church of St Mary’s, West Worlington has a long history. The tower and chancel dates from the 13th and 14th centuries. Much of the church, however, is predominately fifteenth century.
The chancel was restored and refurnished in 1881 at a cost of £140. Further restoration was undertaken in 1906 and 1913.
The spire was restored after a lightning strike in 1976, but retains some of its early structure.
The church underwent another major repair programme in 2011 to restore the floor and interior panelling. At the same time the bells were refurbished and are now rung on a regular basis.
The spire (possibly rebuilt in the 17th century), has a slight twist, making it look not a little like a slightly crumpled wizard’s hat. It is covered in oak shingles and supports a peal of six bells.
Inside the church a splendid feature is the wagon (also known as a barrel) roof, which runs the full length of the church (apart from the chancel). The roof boasts beautifully carved ribs and decorated bosses.
The pulpit, lectern, altar rails and altar table are all mid-late 19th Century and are in the High Victorian Gothic style popular at the time.
Things to look out for
While looking up don’t miss the intricate decorative leaf frieze covering the wallplate.
On each side of the chancel is a memorial plaque dedicated to the Stucley family; this one is dated 1663 and with its flanking Corinthian columns is quite a feature.While in the chancel take a moment to admire the Victorian Gothic encaustic floor tiles.